Posted in Blog

The Problem With Job Hunting

A guide by a recent graduate.

 

Ah, the big bad world. What a delight! All this free time to write and frolic about…

What was that?

A… A job?

There are many things in this world that I will always be delighted to do. Unfortunately, Job hunting is not one of them.

What they don’t tell you…

It’s not that I expected to find a job easily after completing my degree. In fact, it was quite the opposite. I knew that I was going to struggle.

See, I’ve done one of those silly things and pursued something that I love rather than something that will guarantee a job – like a science or maths. I pursued something that employers in the field would rather you have experience in rather than a degree.

So basically, I shot myself in the foot.

What they also don’t tell you is that having one CV for all the jobs you want to apply for won’t work. You have to cater each one to each job you apply because, even if you’re applying to retail jobs, each contain a unique aspect that won’t work for any of the others.

To say I’m tired of job hunting is an understatement.

Alas I will persevere because I really need the money to survive.

 

The other thing with job hunting? How none of the jobs actually appeal to you but you’re under a enormous amount of pressure to find one so you start applying for literally anything. Then you get told “why are you applying for that? You’ll hate it!”

Yeah, thanks Mum. Really hadn’t considered that.

I wish there was an easier way to go about this. Like some magic Fairy God Mother (or Father) who waves their magic wand and… Bibbidi bobbidi boo, you have a job!

Yeah, yeah. I know that’s what the Job Centre is for but, let’s be real, how hard are they trying to get you a job?

So far, all I’ve been told to do is spend a minimum of 35 hours job searching. That’s grand and all, but I was already doing that (well, maybe not 35 hours, but definitely actively searching jobs).

But that’s the thing. Because I’ve signed up for the Job Centre, I feel obligated to apply for everything, regardless of the fact that I do not feel qualified or excited to do any of the jobs.

Oh well, I suppose that’s the down falls of being a grown up.

Hopefully I can write this book in the next year so I won’t have to live in the working world for too long.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

