Posted in Blog

To April

Dear April

I can’t believe your here already. Tomorrow I’m 21 years old. I’m in London, away from my family for the first time. I’m not really sure how to handle it. I semi have plans for the day. I’m talking to perspective students for my course and then going out for dinner and cocktails in the evening.

I’m a little excited. Mainly because my Mum’s already told me what she’s go me for my birthday: a keyboard. No, not one for a computer. A musical one.

It’s something I wanted to pick up this summer. A hobby that I can focus on. I’ve always wanted to play. I’ve just never had the time to.

Next month, I will be heading into no-mans land of adulthood. I’ll be handing in my final deadline and reclaiming my summer. I’m a little scared, to be honest. After this summer, I won’t have anything to stop me from writing. There won’t be assignments I’m prioritising, and I won’t be bring any work home (fingers crossed, anyway).

I suppose this is my new reality. I need to accept that I will have to be up early every day to work. In a way, it’ll be like being at secondary school again. Maybe the last five years haven’t helped me prepare for a life in the real world. I’m too used to afternoon lectures and days off in a row. And I really don’t think the working world will be that lenient.

But for now, I will stop focusing on the black void that is my future. I need to focus on my present, and my dissertation.

So that’s what April will be: a month dedicated to my degree. I will succeed, because I have decided and sometimes that’s half the battle.

Love

Katie

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

