Posted in book review

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

On my Goodreads account, I wrote ‘predictable ending, still made me cry.’

On January 12th, 2017, I finished this book. Even though my review was short, I still somewhat agree with it.

To give you a taste of the book, here’s the blurb:

LIVE LIFE IN A BUBBLE?

OR RISK EVERYTHING FOR LOVE?

Maddy is allergic to the world.

She hasn’t left her house in seventeen years.

Olly is the boy next door.

He’s determined to find a way to reach her.

Everything, Everything is about the crazy risks we take for love.

Straight away you know this is a young adult romance novel.

That’s not why I picked it up.

It has been on my recommended list, both on Goodreads and Amazon, for a while. I just never picked up a copy until I walked in WHSmith one afternoon.

In general, romance novels aren’t my go to when I want a book to read. But this book intrigued me because it’s not often that you have a character with an illness star as the main character.

I mean, sure, Me Before You centres around a woman falling in love with a man in a wheelchair, but it the story was about how the people you meet, the people you love, can change your life without you even realising it.

Everything, Everything is not like that.

It’s worse.

Straight away you’re introduced to Maddy and her unusual way of narrating her story. Made up of diary entries, doctor’s reports, schedules, book reviews, and more, you discover what makes Maddy tick.

But the ending is placed right in front of you quite early on. I won’t tell you the ending, but any eagle-eyed reading will catch on. So by the time you’re reaching the climax, you’re already guessing what’s going to happen.

Yes, the book made me cry, that’s why I waited a few weeks before writing a review. If a book makes me cry, I automatically assume that it’s a good book. I don’t blame it on the fact that I’m a bog baby who cries at everything (everything).

Sitting here now, I don’t really remember the characters. I had to pull my copy of the book out from my shelf just to figure out the main character’s name (always a good sign). I don’t remember what part made me cry, I just remember the ending.

An ending that was just… meh.

When it comes to book or films, I always stress trying them out yourself and making your own opinion. This is just mine.

But… if you want a cheat sheet, I recommend you watch the trailer for the film. They really hold nothing back.

Watch the trailer here:

Image from
Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

