Posted in Film reviews

Hacksaw Ridge (2016)

“With the world so set on tearing itself apart, it don’t seem like such a bad thing to me to want to put a little bit of it back together.”

-Desmond Doss

 

I’m not going to lie when I say that Andrew Garfield is the only reason why I went to see this film. War films are just… not my thing. They always seem to push a certain viewpoint – usually ‘America is great’ (see American Sniper, for example).

So you could say I was just waiting to be disappointed with this film. Only, I walked out of that cinema and I felt like had been the one coming back from war. This film is traumatic, to say the least.

And that’s why I enjoyed it so much.

So let’s begin with the plot.

The film follows Desmond Doss as he enlists in the army and goes to war without a gun. And (spoiler alert) he survives. 

It sounds ridiculous, and the entire time I sat in the cinema I was just expecting something awful to happen to this peaceful gent – because something always happens. That’s life.

Yet there I sat at the end of the film, bawling my eyes out and wondering if there really is a god watching out for us. Or, more likely, Desmond Doss was one of the luckiest son-of-a-bitch the world has ever faced – and thank god he went to Hacksaw Ridge.

Hacksaw Ridge was the perfect blend of traumatic and emotive. Without knowing too much about the real Doss, I can’t argue as to whether or not the film did a great job capturing him. I don’t even feel right talking

I don’t even feel right talking about the plot and the characters of this film because it’s based on real people. That’s someone’s life. analysing anything about the film just seems… rude (then again, that’s just me).

Sure there are things about the film I didn’t like, or absolutely hated. But when you watch something based on truth, it just feels wrong to make judgements on anything other than whether or not the visuals of the film are any good.

And on that front, Hacksaw Ridge nailed the visuals perfectly.

All I can urge you to do now is to the view the film yourself and make your own opinions.

Just be warned, the war is graphic. There is no respite.

Image from
Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

