Posted in Blog

February 7th, 2017

I feel like something is going to go very wrong soon. Things have been a little… easy recently. After the stress of the last term, things seem to be a lot more manageable and I know it has nothing to do with my organisation skills. It’s because this term we have three modules, one of which is my Dissertation which has no formal lectures anymore (rather we make appointments to see our supervisor). Because of that, I have been focusing on the other two modules, which is probably the worst decision I have ever made. I just need to keep reminding myself that I have to do a little dissertation research and writing every week to keep on top of it all.

Talking about keeping on top of it all, I finally managed to go home and grab my new personal planner. There are a few things I would do differently if I were to order it again, but I’m actually enjoying it. This is the second week where I have been keeping track of what I’m doing during the day. I decided that I’m a terrible procrastinator whenI make to-do lists so I have opted to use ‘Done’ lists instead. Every time I do something in the day, including the mundane such as washing dishes, hoovering, laundry, and any uni work I make sure to jot it down. So far, it makes it look like I have had very productive weeks, which I’m all for.

The other thing I have been trying to do with the journal is colour coordinate and decorate the journal. Unfortunately, my handwriting is atrocious. I tried framing this quote about working hard and, whilst the frame is pretty, my handwriting looks like chicken scratch and completely ruins the aesthetic. I’m honestly in awe of anyone who has any level of skill with calligraphy because my handwriting, no matter how hard I try, will always look like a child’s.

The only problem I’ve been having is getting back into the gym spirit. I went for two weeks straight every weekday, and then I went home where I ended up staying longer than I wanted. After that, I’ve just had no motivation to go. Not quite sure what happened, especially as I loved going and it made me feel a lot better about myself, but every time I think about going it’s either extremely late in the night (and the gym’s closed) or I can’t be bothered to change. It’s terrible, I know. I can’t expect to feel good again if I keep avoiding the gym.

I’ll work it out, I’m sure. I mean, I did spend a fortune on the gym membership so I should take advantage of it.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

