Posted in Blog

February 2nd, 2017

I’m kind of tired of reading every day about the lies in the media. The lies of the President of the USA and his minions. The lies that everyone keeps spreading around.

When did it become so hard to decipher the truth?

I have no idea where my country stands anymore. One day we are leaving the EU and, whilst it wasn’t the choice I wanted for my country, I accepted that this was what the majority wanted. Now, everything I have read about Brexit has been muddled. Some were arguing that Theresa May was trying to stop the leave from happening, then Theresa May thought back saying she was going to make sure it happened. Then it was parliament stepping in and making sure Theresa had to abide by them through negotiations, possibly delaying the inevitable for a few years. Then it was Theresa on board with Trump… And that’s just my country. The rest of the world is just as fucked up.

If I were to interview sixteen-year-old me, I wouldn’t have given a rat’s ass about any of it. I didn’t understand politics, and I didn’t care about anything that didn’t directly relate to me then and there. I was a self-absorbed teen, as to be expected. But over the last four years, I’ve realised so many things about myself and the world.

I’m a feminist. I do not like the way things are decided for my country. And with every passing day, my compassion for other people grows. I’ve already noticed a drastic change in myself. A few years ago, I wouldn’t have cared if someone had a crappy day so long as it didn’t interfere with mine. Now, regardless of how another treats me, I try to be polite and understanding. Life is just so short to get mad.Not only do I feel shitty for hours later because I’ve got annoyed at someone, but I’ve also made their day worse.

I’m not saying I’m perfect. I’m not saying I can do it all the time. Sometimes I get aggravated, especially if I’m stuck in a crowd. It has nothing to do with them, but me. I’m claustrophobic, or at least I think I am. It’s not something that hinders me in any shape or form other than I get a real bad case of anxiety any time I’m forced into confined spaces or large crowds of people. I can usually handle elevators on my own, especially if they’re the big kind. As soon as you place another person or even a couple more people, I feel my heart race and I count down the seconds till I can get out of there. My greatest fear is getting in an elevator filled with people… and it breaking down. I think, if that were to happen, I would have a full on panic attack.

I’m rambling. I guess I’ll leave it there for today.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

