Posted in creative writing

Dear Writers

There are many things I could say to you. Advice about writing, inspiration to write, encouragement, even tips on common grammar mistakes. But as a writer myself, I know that none of that is really helpful, just an illusion.

I would have thought pursuing a degree in creative writing meant I spent more time writing the things I wanted, but it’s actually quite the opposite. I spend most of my time chasing faint wisps of ideas pretending they’re elaborate enough to satisfy my lecturers.

I am not the sort of person to wing it when it comes to writing. I like to know exactly what the world is supposed to look like, smell like, sound like, but most importantly, I like to know how it works. The economic, social, and cultural differences. Maybe that’s a bi-product of writing fantasy, but the point still stands. I have to have a grasp of my world before I can write. But my degree does not allow for that sort of focus. We breeze through topics and styles like tomorrow doesn’t exist. I get brief inspirations and brief acquaintances with my characters, but I never fully understand them. And… I think it may have damaged my ability to write novels.

I’m planning my dissertation, but it’s not clicking. Like, at all. I’m lost with it. I’ve changed so much, yet nothing is sitting right with me. It seems so… bland.

I guess that’s a problem all writers must face at one point or another. But I’m finding that the feeling is cropping up more and more. Have you ever felt like that?

I guess I’m taking things for granted. In around five months I’ll be nearing the end of my degree. I will no longer have the pressure to write creatively every week to fuel me, so what does that mean for my writing? I will admit that over the years I have been the type of writer who writes when inspiration strikes or whenever the moment feels right, but that’s wrong! I should be writing every single day. I should be letting all forms, regardless of style or continuity, be free on the page. I need to be courageous with my writing. I need to stop making excuses about why I can’t write – to stop saying there is not enough time in the day or that I can’t write on the train ride back to London. I need to seize the day. I need to write like a professional writer.

So I ask you; what things do you do to write? What habits have you created to induce creativity?

From,

The struggling writer.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

