Posted in Film reviews

Ghostbusters (2016)

I don’t understand why everyone was getting their knickers in a twist about this. It’s a remake with women – so? Remakes happen all the god damn time, I mean look at Batman. Look at how many times Spiderman has been remade in the last twenty years! It’s about time remakes added something new to make them special again.

Now this film was… okay at best. It’s not the best film I have ever seen, but it certainly isn’t the worst. It was just average. I walked out of the cinema and went ‘meh’, which I’m pretty sure I did with the original (although not as I walked out the cinema, I’m not that old).

What I will say is that it is fantastic representation of women, which I’m all for (you know, being a woman myself sick and tired of seeing only a certain type of woman portrayed in media). These women are intellectuals, even Patty whose painted as the streetwise, sassy one. She’s a history buff and prides herself on knowing the streets of New York better than anyone (which is a much better role in the film than the trailer painted).

These women are shown to be humans throughout. There are no special treatments because they have ‘boobs’, in fact they are treated like shit throughout irregardless. They are called insane for their beliefs, liars for providing proof, and used as scapegoats at the end of the film.

Really, if there wasn’t such outrage to the Ghostbusters being women and such media coverage, this film probably would have gone unnoticed. It wasn’t magnificent. It was average, which is quickly becoming a trend within Hollywood.

I really can’t remember the last time I sat and watched a film and was lost for words.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

