Posted in book review

Harry Potter and The Cursed Child (2016)

Harry Potter is one of the best things I have ever read. I’m one of the few that didn’t grow up reading the books, but irregardless it is one of my favorites. When Deathly Hallows Part 2 finally hit the big screen in 2011, I was gutted. It marked the end of an era. So when The Cursed Child was announced, I was thrilled. We were finally getting a sequel.

Now it needs to be said that whilst this is the eighth addition to the Potter saga, it is not a novel but a script. If it was a novel, I would have walked away completely frustrated because the story line is basically fanfiction – in fact, I’m pretty sure I’ve come across one very similar to this. But as a script it works. It’s supposed to be visual and the dialogue is supposed to reveal a little too much but the character – how else would you know what’s going on if you’re sitting on the back row?

I am definitely biased when it comes to Harry Potter, so whilst this may be my least favourite of the series, I still love it.

Now, I’m not going to be revealing anything. The books still fresh on the shelves and it doesn’t seem fair to give away spoilers this early in the game.

But I will say this – if you don’t like reading scripts, this is definitely not the one to read. If you don’t mind, proceed. You’ll enjoy it. But at the end of the day, you’ll only get to experience the magic if you see the play in person.

And don’t worry, new tickets are released every Friday at 1pm so you still have a chance!

I, for one, will be trying to snag myself some tickets as soon as possible so I can experience the magic before my eyes.

 

Image from

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

