Posted in Film reviews

Warcraft (2016)

I had one question running through my mind as I walked out of the cinema: is this going to be a series? Because I really hope not.

Visually, this was on par with Avatar (2009). It is one of the most beautiful films I have ever seen. I really love the way special effects has developed over the last 20 years. We are now at the point where Fantasy films don’t feel like crappy knock-offs that are torture to watch. They feel real. I think I spent most of the time wondering how I could visit the land and where my magical abilities were.

But that’s where the strengths of this film ends because once I started thinking of anything other than the visuals, I want to tear my hair out. This film is literal crap. There was no sustenance to the film. I didn’t like any of the characters, I didn’t feel like I was allowed to get to KNOW any of the characters. The plot drove by so quickly without hammering any emotions from me.

I don’t know about you, but when I watch a film (especially a fantasy), I want to walk away feeling mesmerised. I want to talk about the film and everything I loved and not focus on the negatives. Such as the film only having three female characters – all of which are reduced to eye candy.

Here’s their roles (spoilers ahead… kind of):

One of the female orc dies saving her baby which is obviously going to fuel her husband into action if there is a sequel, or create a Harry Potter orc. The human female character is a queen shown to be loving and kind… and that is literally it. She has no actual role in the film but to make her brother and husband look better. Finally, and the worst character of all, is the slave girl who is more mary sue than orc. Like she can literal wield a sword without any training and is clearly shown to be the weakest of the bunch because of her half breed status. Also, never explained what she is half of. You assume human, but there are no humans where she comes from. Was the wizard who dies her father? It certain explains the long and unnecessary looks when they meet. Otherwise those looks are just damn creepy.

Actually, whenever a male character looks at a female character for too long, it is just plain awful. You can tell that they’re supposed to be there as eye candy and it’s just wrong.

Anyway, I walked out of the cinema extremely annoyed. I don’t know why I thought this film was going to be good. I don’t know why I thought it would be different to the parade of garbage already available. But it wasn’t.

The most disappointing thing about fantasy, especially fantasy films, is that we get told the same story over and over again. Somewhat likeable, roguish male character wielding a sword goes to war for stupid reason, orchestrated by someone assumed to be good, only to find out that they’re not.

Wow. How interesting.

Image from

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

