Posted in Blog

July 19th, 2016

Today has been horrendous. Not because of anything concrete but because it has been hotter than hell. I actually had to locate my shorts in order to keep myself cool. Now that may sound like nothing to you, but I haven’t found a pair of shorts that are actually comfortable and not booty shorts. The pair I pulled out today were okay, but I had the worst wedgie every time I sat down – something that became highly annoying whilst I was at work.

The only other highlight of my week (nay, life) is Pokemon Go. I’ve heard so much shit about it recently, shit that I don’t entirely understand

We are the generation of technology. We are so much more advanced than our parents, and yet every time we self-indulge in these technological feats we are called ‘impetuous children’. Belittled to the point that they feel self-entitled and important. It has shown me everything wrong with the world.

Pokemon Go is more than a ‘silly little game’ – more than an app. Its simplicity is its brilliance.

My generation grew up with Pokemon. We grew up with Ash and Pikachu, Misty and Brock. We grew up with Team Rocket and felt our hearts break when Ash ended up in the middle of two legendary Pokemon.

I grew up collecting the cards, playing Pokemon Blue and using this beautiful Pikachu Gameboy case that I still have to this day (and it is something I have never seen anyone else own). Being able to go outside, go on real adventures AND catch Pokemon?

It’s beyond a dream come true.

I’ve said this time and time again; I want to go out more. To explore London and generally become more active. Pokemon Go has enabled me to do that. I get up in the morning and look forward to the evening when I go get on my bike and ride.

Last week, I did two 5mile rides and walked half that on another day. This weekend I travelled home. That in itself wasn’t anything magnificent. But the fact that on Saturday at 11pm I went out with my mum and two brothers is. My family has never been united quite like this, which is saying something because we are quite close.

I love this game and the way it’s capturing the world. Sure you get the minority who haven’t figured out yet that you don’t need to be in the exact location of Pokestop’s and Pokemon and just being in the general vicinity is okay with the game. Yes, there have also been some weird stories, such as bodies being found, but what do you expect when more people are going outside and exploring the land?

I love everything that has come with the game. All the negative stories, like the man threatening to ‘purge’ anyone playing the game or mugging people by using a lure to attract them to Pokestops, are expected when deranged people exist. You can’t control people’s minds and you’re always going to come across people who take advantage of something so pure. That want to tarnish everything good and wonderful in the world (and I’m definitely saying that with My Little Pony in mind, fucking Bronies).

With everything that’s going on in the world – the lives of so many black people being taken over nothing, Turkey, the bombings across the globe, and just the violence. The pure and utter hatred that’s forming in every corner of this world. Surely something that brings people together – together in the most wonderful way – is something to be cherished?

Maybe I want people to stop damning the game because it’s my childhood and it holds a tender spot in my heart. But it’s one of the more positive lights shining on this darkening world and I, for one, would love to hold on to that for as long as possible.

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

