Posted in Blog

July 6th, 2016

I think I’m in love with life.

Or, at least today has been a good day.

London is gorgeously sunny, work has been a breeze, and I made a massive start on my dissertation. I really need to start writing down my research on here and documenting my findings. It would help me greatly by cementing what I’ve discovered if I could explain it in my own words.

Plus, writing about fantasy, whether it be fiction books or essays, is actually quite fun. I’ve found that the essays I’ve enjoyed writing the most at university have been the ones that initially have been vague and my lecturer has advised us to pick our own central book. Naturally both the book I chose to use were sci-fi books, a very close cousin to fantasy (next to the gothic and, apparently, detective novels – who knew?). These essay’s, and this is going to make me sound like a giant nerd (which I totally am, but that is so besides the point), were fun because I loved the books I was writing about. The only bad side is that it really changes your perspective of the books you read. Some of the books that have gone from ‘for fun’ to ‘research’ have completely changed in regards to my attitude and enjoyment – almost always to a negative.

Mostly it’s because I’ve had my analytical hat on, which is a complete bitch. But I’ve really discovered that there are hardly any books where the female main character (note I’m not using protagonist here) has been beyond useless. The dictionary definition of ‘protagonist’ is a leading character within a book, play, or film. But more often than not, one of the main female characters in a fantasy novel are not also one of the protagonist. They are just one of the characters we get to hear from.

Think ‘Throne of Glass’ by Sarah J. Maas. Celaena is the narrator and whom we expect to be the protagonist, except she doesn’t actually do a lot in the book (and apologies if I’m wrong is this regard, it has been a while since I read the book). But that’s just one example that I’ll go into further detail at a later date.

Anyway, what I was trying to say is that my relationship with books have slowly, but surely, been changing. I’m finding that I’m no longer a slut with my stamp of approval over books. I’m more reluctant to fall in love with characters, and I’m certainly always second guessing the narrators.

Not entirely sure how I’ve progressed from loving life to a rant over how reading a book has changed, but I’ll take it.

Anyway, I need to go do some more research on fantasy fiction. If you’re interested in discovering more along with me, keep an eye out for my creative writing blogs.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

