Posted in Blog

To July

Dear July

Things have started to settle down, although I am certainly far from anything resembling a routine. It makes me a little nervous not having a set routine to follow, but one is definitely starting to appear.

I’ve been working the 9-5 life for well over a month now and I must say it’s something I’ve easily adjusted to. Although waking up at 7 in the morning is a little bit of a nightmare, I’m finally getting used to it. The shame is that I’m not going to bed any earlier, so it’s a little bit of an adjustment having only 7 hours sleep.

The good news is that I finally bought myself a blender and a bike, so my summer goals of having more fruit, and exercising more is finally a reality. The bad news is that summer is not as ‘summery’ as I want it to be. So far it’s been more doom and gloom than summer. But then again, you can’t really expect great weather when you live in England.

I also feel like my world is in limbo. After the decision to make Brexit a reality, life here hasn’t really changed. I mean, you hear on the news about how the ‘value of the pound has plummeted, sending the stocks into mayhem’… but that hasn’t really affected my life. I haven’t lost my job, I’m not struggling to pay rent, or to put food on the table. It feels just like any other day.

But it also feels like the calm before the storm. Just because my days are breezing by, there are lives in the world whose days are numbered. They are slaughtered for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Terrorism is at an all time high and.. for what?

I guess there’s too much in this world that I don’t understand and that’s going to take a long time for me to understand, if ever.

Anyway, that got a little heavy. So, to finish this up I want to leave myself some goals to achieve in July. I really want to get myself back on track. I want to really start preparing for my dissertation, whether that means coming up with my story idea or just doing some research. I want to explore London further, something I haven’t really had the chance to do. I’ve pretty much been home every weekend since I moved into my new flat, or at work. This weekend I would like to change that.

Anyway, that’s all for this month.

Lots of love

Katie x

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

