Posted in Blog

June 28th, 2016

I’m making a serious commitment to myself: and that’s to cut all the shitty foods out of my life. I really need to get my shit together and start eating better. I feel like half my problems are due to the ‘quick-and-easy’ food options that I always pick. I need to make the choice –  my health or food?

I know what the smart option is. Whilst food may be delicious, my health is more important in the long run. The real issue is that I’m a fussy eater. I can’t really describe what it is that I go through, but once I get it in my head that I don’t like something it’s really hard for me to change my opinion.

For example; when I was little, I loved bananas. I mean, I would literally eat an entire bunch by myself whenever I went round my nans. But now, even the smell of bananas makes me sick and I’m not entirely sure why.

The same goes with raisins, strawberries, and grapes. It’s like my mind has been subconsciously putting hits out on fruit before killing them off. I wish I could love those fruits – I really do. But just trying to eat one is a challenge. Most of the time I can get one – or a bite if we’re talking about bananas- before binning the rest.

That’s why I bought myself a blender and a drawer full of frozen fruit. I decided that I needed to eat more fruit, so the best solution was to make smoothies. I’ll admit that I haven’t really stuck to my plan of having a smoothie a day for breakfast, but I’ve at least had smoothies a couple of times (and mango ones are my fave!)

I’m getting there. But I need to find a way to cut out all the junk food from my life. Then Life would be perfect.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

