Posted in Film reviews

TMNT: Out of the Shadows(2016)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles has always been a favourite with my family. I can remember growing up with the original live action films (although I couldn’t tell you the plot of any of them). They were a little baffling, but ultimately I found myself loving the franchise.

When they rebooted the series in 2014, I was excited. More so after watching the film. The plot was completely forgettable (I’ve seen the film a couple of times since its release and I can honestly tell you that I have no idea what it was about). Ultimately, this film followed its footsteps.

I will admit that I did enjoy this film. On the day I went to see it, I was completely stressed out and in desperate need of a pick-me-up, which it was. But now as I sit here and type, I can honestly say that I don’t really remember the film. It does not stand up to the test of time.

All I remember is Arrow running around pretending he’s not a bad-ass, green vigilante (sorry, wrong fandom). Casey Jones was light-hearted and funny – and really that’s all I can remember. The Turtles were their usual free-spirited selves, which I love.

But this film is forgettable. It follows the same pattern of so many remakes – generic plot line of the bad guy being bad and free to do whatever they want. The good guys set out after the bad guy, only to be distracted by a sub-plot before ultimately overcoming said sub-plot and coming back stronger than ever and defeating the bad guy.

There were no surprises, and, if it were not for the interaction between the Turtles, this film would be a complete waste of time. Really, the only way I would recommend this film is if you have seen the first – and only then if you enjoyed it.  There are so many films that are better than this one, especially if you’re paying to see them.

 

 

Image from
Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

One thought on “TMNT: Out of the Shadows(2016)

Leave a Reply

