Posted in book review

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransome Riggs

By now, I think I’ve made my love for superheroes and all things supernatural clear. I decided to purchase Riggs book after seeing the film trailer for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Instantly, I loved the concept. It was basically the English equivalent of X-men.

However, as much as I enjoyed the book, it did let me down a little. I didn’t really feel Jacob – I didn’t sympathise with him at all. He seemed wishy-washy to me. He was quick to abandon his friend – his only friend too, apparently. He was quick to fall in love and abandon his family.

What I did enjoy was the use of photography. It creates this world that can be real although you know it’s not.

Really, I’m conflicted about it. On one hand, I devoured it in a few days (an accomplishment, really, as it’s been taking me longer lately to get through a book). On the other, I don’t really feel motivated to read the second book (although I have bought it just in case I want to).

I would recommend it to anyone who likes super-powers, especially as the powers used are quite unique and interesting. Really, what I’m excited about is seeing the adaptation and how they’ve changed the story.

At the end of the day, it’s an okay read but just don’t expect to love the characters.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransome Riggs

Leave a Reply

