Posted in Blog

May 6th, 2016

I don’t want to sound too cocky, but I think I nailed my job interview this afternoon. The job in question is the same one I already have, but I had to reapply so I can continue next year.

I think it’s safe to say that the job is mine. I get along with everyone in the office and I knew how to handle pretty much all the scenarios they threw at me. I also want campus life to feel better – to feel like there is a community rather than feel isolated all the time. And you know, the whole ‘be the change you want to see’.

This year has been so good. Sure I haven’t actually gone out that much or done the typical activities of a university student. I don’t get drunk every night of the week or write an essay the night before it’s due. But then that was never me in the first place. I like having essays done well in advance of the deadline – I like quite nights in, or, if I have to go out, down the pub. I don’t like drinking to get drunk. Especially if I’m having a good night anyway, I usually feel like I’ve drunk more than I have.

Really, I’m an old person in the body of a 20-year-old. Whilst my peers may look down on me for that, I don’t have a problem with it. Whilst my best friend goes clubbing every chance she gets, I’d rather be in bed with a book. I just don’t see the point on spending an extortionate amount of money on alcohol (which, let’s face it, you need if you’re ever going to enjoy the night), being rubbed up against by horny men, and then having said expensive drinks dropped on you.

Anyway, today has kind of been a nightmare in a good way. I’ve had my interview, sorted out my accommodation for the summer, and am about to finish up some coursework.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

One thought on “May 6th, 2016

Leave a Reply

