Posted in Blog

May 3rd, 2016

I think I’ve hit meltdown point.

I’m trying to write a critical reflection on my script so I can get the damn coursework out of the way, except I’ve run out of things to say with 100 words left to go. I’m literally throwing everything in order to get the words up.

I’m not so great about thinking critically about myself. Sometimes I make decisions about my work that aren’t very logical and then become very hard to explain.

So my script is an adaptation of A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. In it, Charlie Darnay, an ex-hitman, goes head to head with his brother, Marcus, in order to save his wife and daughter. If you are familiar with the novel, you will know that Charles Darnay does not have a brother. But he does have an Uncle, Marquis Evrémonde, who is a piece of work. I decided to change their family status so that Marquis was Charlie’s brother and named him Marcus.

So yeah major changes. But I have no idea why I’ve made half of them. I changed the genre to action because I wanted a major showdown between the two brothers (which is shit, by the way). Because of that change, I decided that they both need an occupation that is action packed – hence the decision to make them both hitmen.

Really, I stumped. Trying to back my decisions up with theory’s is hard because finding relevant theory is impossible!

I think I’ve done okay so far. I just need to materialise 100 more words, though. So off I go to finish bullshitting an essay.

Wish me luck!

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

