Posted in Blog

April 30th, 2016

I’m not entirely sure what I have accomplished today. It feels like nothing, but I know that I’ve somewhat made a headway into adaptation theories.

Really it’s because I’m still reading the same article I was reading several days ago, but in my defence, the article is 30 pages long and says the same thing a billion times.

Really, adaptation is the easiest thing to study. The arguments all boil down to whether or not being faithful to the original content is okay.

Basically, I’m looking into why you would change the content. So for The Hunger Games, for example, there were a lot of changes to the novel when it was adapted to the screen. Most notably, the lack of Peter losing a leg. What was added into the film, all the scenes from the Capitol where the audience actually saw them panic over Katniss’ actions, provided a depth to the story that would have been impossible to cover in the books.

Personally, I love the way The Hunger Games was adapted. Yes, I have some gripes about the lack of Peter losing his leg, but overall the film really captured the essence of the book – another theory of adaptation (in that it doesn’t matter what you do so long as the ‘spirit’ of the original content remains).

I feel like adaptation is such a simple concept – such a simple thing to study. But narrowing down the ideas behind the adaptation is impossible. Sometimes you change something because it makes sense in the grand scheme of things. The decision is made – such as making Ron appear like a dick rather than the supportive best friend, or Black Widow a love interest to literally any male character that’s in her vicinity (I mean, seriously? The Hulk? AND Cap? AND Hawkeye? Just leave the poor girl alone).

At this moment, with my adaptation coursework due just around the corner, I could talk about it until my heart gives out. It is a fascinating subject, one I would probably want to dive in further if I had an adequate teacher (seriously, she’s useless. I don’t think I’ve learnt anything from her actual lectures, besides that coffee doesn’t help my concentration levels and only makes me hyperactive).

So, yeah. I don’t think today has been the most productive. But at the same time, I still feel like I made a substantial dent in my workload. At least for my adaptation coursework, anyway.

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

