Posted in Blog

April 18th, 2016

I want to travel the world. I want to travel the world so bad sometimes. I know I’m not the first person to say that… nor will I be the last.

I think travelling in one of those universal desires. Like when you think of students, you think of gap years abroad. You think of them travelling, broke. My mum is always saying to us that we need to travel. We need to see as much of the world before we settle.

I think sometimes she regrets having us. Well, not having us as such. Just having us so early in her life. She was in her early 20s when she had my brother. She had only been married to my dad for a year. She had been abroad once, and once more with us.

My older brother and sister have taken her advice to heart. Every year my brother travels to some new location. Egypt, Greece, Japan, New York… My sister along the same lines (although she’s been to Australia twice now). I, on the other hand, have only been abroad twice. Once to Lanzarote when I was 9/10, and to Paris a few years ago. I went to Belfast in August, but that doesn’t count.

I have plans to go on a cruise with my sister in January. We should be booking in a couple of months. But our simple ‘sister’ holiday has expanded to include her boyfriends. she’s tried encouraging me to invite my friends, but when you’re all pretty much students that’s a no-go.

Originally my plan was to be smart about saving, which has actually gone pretty well.But now I have a full-time job lined up for the summer. I’ll be working 9-5, 5 days a week with good pay. I’ll be able to save a butt load of money for this holiday and still have loads left to play with during the summer.

There is one thing I want to buy this summer. I really want a bike. I’ll be living in London and I really want to explore the city. The idea of sitting on a tube all day bores me. I need to be more active and I thought it would be great. The problem is I don’t have a bike at the moment.

I mean, that’s not exactly a big problem. I’ll save a little (or wait for my student loan to come through) and buy one. Then that’s it – I’m off.

I already feel like I’ve wasted two years of living in London. I’ve barely explored the area. I’ve barely been off campus. It’s the one thing I said I would do whilst here, but I seriously underestimated the work load I would have. I’ve always got assignments or readings to do.I thinkI had a grand total of two weeks in London last year where I didn’t have assignments over my head. I ended up going to see Wicked, and that was it.

So yeah, I need to promise myself to explore London this summer.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

