Posted in Blog

April 13th, 2016

The event I’ve been planning for my society for the last two weeks happened last night. It wasn’t what I expected in the end, but I think I preferred what happened.

The Open Mic Night I scheduled had two guest speakers opening and closing the night. The rest was up to who wanted to read. We didn’t actually get that many readers, and the event actually finished after an hour. Our guests left, leaving us students in the room for two hours.

Then we found the giant connect 4. Add alcohol and students with an over sized board game, and you know you’ve got a great night.

Whilst I knew all the creative writing students who turned up, there were some fresh faces in the crowd. By the end of the evening, I guess you could say we were all friends. ‘Friends’ in a way that I’ll probably never see these people ever again.

But that’s student life. I always meet people on campus, have these great evenings with them. Then life moves on.

All I can say is that you can’t plan for everything. So much happened last night I didn’t plan for. I don’t regret a single thing. It was probably one of the best evenings I’ve had at uni so far.

It kind of makes me regret trying to go for a studio flat next year. But in the long run, I know it’s what’s best for me and my degree.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

