Posted in Film reviews

Eddie the Eagle (2016)

Like I do whenever I have something more pressing to do; I procrastinated by venturing out to the cinema to see this beauty.

I use the term ‘beauty’ quite lightly here because Eddie the Eagle is nothing spectacular.

Like all ‘feel good films’, Eddie the Eagle sees underdog Eddie Edwards go from loser to celebrated Olympian (well, kind of). I wasn’t around when the real Eddie Edwards took the Winter Olympics by storm, but I have heard his story.

In 2014, I stumbled on my Mum watching the Winter Olympics. She was watching, funnily enough, the ski jumping with such delight that it kind of threw me off.

Now my Mum is not one for sports. She hates the usual contenders – football, rugby, tennis, cricket, and whatever else is shown on the sports channel. Her only exception is the F1. I have no idea why she loves it so much, but it’s her thing.

Anyway, she was really into watching the ski jumping, so I asked her why. She told me Eddie’s story. The underdog of England coming out blazing. He might not have won, but he shone for England. He showed a nation what they could achieve if they only believe in themselves.

And that, folks, is the basic entity of the film.

Really, there’s no need for a spoiler free review because you already know the outcome of the story, whether you knew the real Eddie Edwards or not. You know that he’s not going to win; that he’s not going to die. He’s just going to do remarkably well for England (and lousy compared to every other country, but that’s nothing new).

But at the end of the day, Eddie the Eagle is nothing special – and I say that with a heavy heart because I love Hugh Jackman and Taron Egerton. But it is true. The film is one you watch on a Sunday afternoon when there’s nothing better on and you want a kip.

The only good thing about the film is that it hits all the right beats at the right time, rising the tension at the best times to keep you engaged with the film.

Other than that, Eddie the Eagle is completely forgettable.

 

 

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

One thought on “Eddie the Eagle (2016)

Leave a Reply

