Posted in Blog

March 26th, 2016

Two days into my Easter and I’ve accomplished the beginnings of an essay – no, not the introduction, but the plan.

I chose to stay in London for the first week of Easter. It wasn’t necessary for me to do so, I could have gone home with no fuss. But I have an essay due in just after Easter break and I thought I would utilize my time efficiently.

I’m already a day in to my week long solitude and I’m bored. I’m restless. But I know this feeling will not go away if I go out. It’s nothing to do with being alone, which I actually enjoy, and more with the essay.

I hate writing essays. This one is about whether it is possible to balance the artistic ambition of the creator against media owners and the demand of consumers (basically, can a writer have success publishing something they want through traditional means).

Yeah, not the most fascinating thing to plan and write.

I have this thing with essays. Even when I’m invested in the topic (like last year, for one of my essays I wrote about the tradition within dystopian fiction), I find it hard to focus.

So I’m not saying I’m going to stop the blog until after Easter…

But I’m saying that updating will not be a priority for the week.

I may still update daily – it is really cathartic to write down my thoughts like this. I may not write anything for the week. It really depends on how stressed I get and whether I find the time.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

