Posted in Blog

March 24th, 2016

My goodness, today has been a whirlwind!

I feel like I have been the most productive person ever. Not only did I start a society at Uni today, but I also met with my mentee, and went to work! Plus contacted a few publishers about review copies, and am organizing two events!

Never in my life have I accomplished so much in a day (and it will probably never happen again).

But in all seriousness, starting a society has been so exciting. It enables us to do more with Creative Writing publication for my uni, and enables us to have space to work in. It’s all so exciting and I really can’t wait for next year to develop it some more.

But that wasn’t what I anticipated writing about  today. I  was actually going to make a companion piece to a poem I have written recently (I’m not a Poet) but I’ve kind of got a little distracted.

I’m not a Poet was something I wrote early one morning. It was insomnia induced inspiration, so it is probably a horrendous poem. But I kind of like it.

Even now, having technically published a few poems, I would say that I am not a poet. At least not first a foremost. I as a prose writer; it is something I love and enjoy. But there is something about writing poetry that is so fulfilling. I just can’t put my finger on it.

Really, my appreciation for poetry has been growing since we did 4/5 weeks on poetry on one of my modules. We were encouraged to write all these different types of poems, to look at many examples of so many different styles.

I’ve learnt that poetry is the most subjective, written art form available. Prose is regarded as good depending on how many people bought the book. Poetry does not have that kind of grading system. Poetry either appeals to you or not. That’s it.

So yeah, writing has never really appealed to me.I appreciate the work of poets, as I do for any other writer. I know how hard it is to sit in front of a computer and type away for hours on end. But poets are the most under appreciated of all artists.

And I find myself more, and more draw to the form. Do I think I will ever move over and write only poetry?

No.

But I do think I will continue to experiment with the form and post here.

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

