Posted in Poetry

Shards

I never realized how much I bottled

until I knocked the glass

off the table,

 scattering shards across the floor,

and I had to pick up the pieces

on my own

for who would know

what’s in my heart

if I kept the bottle held tight,

out of sight

out of mind.

I never realized how much I bottled

until the day I needed help

and they looked at me like I was crazy.

Help?

They cried

for surely I had my shit together.

I never realized how much I bottled

until the bottle was gone.

I turned to my neighbor

and cried.

I turned to my sister

and sobbed,

to my mother

who held me like I was

just a day old

and told me everything was going to be okay.

Image from
Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

