Posted in creative writing

Writing Fantasy: Part 1

Or how I am slowly losing my mind.

I have always admired fantasy writers. It started with J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter, and more recently has spiraled into the masterpiece George R.R. Martin created, Game of Thrones.

Even before I became literate in my use of the English language (and trust me, it’s an ongoing battle), I was creating my own little worlds and stories. I was the one in my group of friends who initiated our world play, whether it be tornadoes wrecking havoc in the park, or evacuees preparing to flee London during the Second World War.

It’s one of the reason’s why my Mum never questioned my decision to do a creative writing degree. In fact, her exact response was “no shit”.

What is only just starting to occur to me is my preferred genre. Before this  degree, I didn’t realize how much novels are tailored to their genre. How much you expect as a reader when you pick up a book. Fantasy has so much work behind it. Not only do you have to think about a story line, you also need to build a world.

Quite often in fantasy you are thrown into these ‘brand new’ world (and I use brand new loosely because quite often there is a LOT of history created before you’re thrown into the story). In these worlds not only do you meet new characters, but you are also greeted by new languages, places, creatures, and magic. All of this has been carefully constructed; years of hard work correlating in one book (well, fantasy is often a series. But that’s for another day).

Today I have spent trying to figure out my fantasy world.The idea has been bouncing around in my head for a few years now, but I’ve never felt equipped to handle it. Only now am I becoming more comfortable with the idea of writing a fantasy novel.

However it is one of the most difficult things I have ever embarked on in my life. Trying to wrap my head around a kingdom, and how my main character fits in that kingdom. Then trying to figure out the dynamics of the world. Figuring out what each character wants and how that effects the overall story and their interaction with each character.

Really by loosing my mind I mean I’m becoming overwhelmed.

I don’t know my story inside and out. There I said it.

But I’m not ready to start writing it just yet. So it’s fine.

Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself anyway.

But the key to any writing is determined. And I am. I want this story in words that I can show to others. I’m not particularly fussed about publishing it. I just want to prove that I can write a full story; a good story. And then I’ll feel accomplished in my life.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

2 thoughts on “Writing Fantasy: Part 1

    1. Thank you! And good luck to yourself!
      You can say that again. I think I’m always finding plot holes in my writing. It’s one of the reasons why I don’t feel comfortable writing unless I have everything planned out.

Leave a Reply

