Posted in Blog

March 16th, 2016

Today has been a good day.

In class we had to have someone who has never read our story read it. I’m normally that painfully shy girl who always works with the same person, and my usual partner in crime had made eye contact with someone almost instantly and swapped work. I had to think quick on my feet and find someone to swap work with.

So I did the logical thing.

I turned around and ask the guys behind me.

Luckily it worked out.

The story I read was… confusing to say the least. It wasn’t all there. The dialogue a little pointless, but I could see where he was going.

My story I had no hope for. Maybe one day I’ll post it on here, but for now lets leave it at ‘it’s frustrating’.

My idea works better as a short film, not a short story. Still, I persevere.

But the feedback I received today has actually given me a little confidence in my work.

I realize that I really need to get more people to read my work. At the moment I have a friend read over my work. Her feedback is hit and miss. Sometimes it’s really insightful. Other times she says things to be hurtful, and then proclaims to have no recollection of ever saying it (the instance I’m talking about she said I was ‘colloquial’ and the voice was very aggravating, but after our lecture’s feedback where he said he loved my voice, she proclaimed that she liked the piece).

But that’s beside the point.

Writing is so subjective. You need to have a variety of friends and acquaintances to read your work; to give you feedback. I’m still struggling to let others read my work. I feel like every word on the page is a little part of me. And showing ‘me’ off is not something I’m comfortable with.

That’s partly why I’ve decided to start this blog. I thought that if I wrote daily, if I put my thoughts onto the page and pressed send every day, maybe I’ll get there.

I’m not saying that it’ll work. In fact, I’m almost certain it won’t. But it’ll help eliminate some of that fear. Especially as next week everyone’s reading everyone’s work in order to maximize feedback. I would avoid it but it’s kind of essential to the course. That and I could really do with some feedback.

So yeah, there’s that.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

