Posted in Blog

March 14th, 2016

It’s Monday and I feel like shit.

Productive has been a foreign concept the last 24 hours. I’ve succumbed to my flu induced headache and spent most of it in bed.

Well…Except for yesterday evening where I sucked it up and went to the cinema to watch Kung Fu Panda 3 (which is hilarious).

Really, when I feel this bad, work goes out the window and I lie in a mound of self pity until I feel better. But as my mother suspects this is stressed related flu, doing nothing is not going to cut it this time.

I need to make some life changes.

Now this isn’t me writing about how I am going to do these thing (as we have already established I am a pretty effective procrastinator).

No.

This is me writing a motivational (ha) speech so that the next time I feel like doing nothing, I can come back here and read it.

So here it is everyone; this lazy-ass bitch is going to make a speech.

Round up you neighbors, grab your family, and embrace this once in a lifetime treat.

The Unproductive Speech

Every minute you waste sitting at your desk, staring at the blank page not writing, is a minute you delay your excellence. It is a minute you leave abandoned. Your craft cannot teach itself. You need to get up and write; anything. It literally does not matter. The shit that spews from your mouth is unintended brilliance.

Or at least, it will be one day when you redraft it.

Every second you waste worrying about a deadline; about an event that happened months, weeks, days, minutes ago, is not worth your time. It will not help you focus. You need to write it down, get it out, and let it go. Every time it pops into your head, release it.

Don’t hold on.

Every day you procrastinate the things you need to do, is a day you’ve lost. Is a day you make up in stress. Is a day where you could get ill and use that as your excuse (and believe me I know, I’m doing it right now). Nothing should stop you from being the best possible you.

The only person who can tell you you’re wonderful, is you. You need to surround yourself with the things you love. Let go of all the negative people; the people who find reasons to put you down. They are not your friends. They want to hinder your success; make you feel worthless. And you do not need that.

Because you are worth more than that.

You need to make your home, whether that be an actual house or your bedroom, as inspiring as possible. It is the place you live and breath. The place you work. Fill it with beautiful art. Your favorite flowers. Inspirational quotes.

The point is, every time you step into your domain, you should feel  empowered. You’ll look at the art and see a million different stories. The flowers as your character’s hands gently pluck them. The quotes of writers, and geniuses, who laid the path before us. Who showed us what could be achieved, and how we can achieve greater.

Destiny is in your hands. You may tell yourself that you do not have the time. That you are over worked  from school, from work, and that at the end of the day you can think of nothing more than binge watching a series and going to bed.

The only person you are failing, is you.

Everything else is an excuse. There is always enough time for the things you love.

You just have to find them.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

