Posted in Blog

March 12th, 2016

The worst has happened.

I’m coming down with the flu.

I woke up this morning with a blocked nose that, luckily, cleared after my shower. I’ve felt relatively fine when I went out to Kentish Town with my flatmate for her tattoo consultation (one she decided not to get after hearing the extortionate price. We are still students after all). Then we proceeded to wander around London for most of the day.

It was whilst we were on the tube that my head started to throb. You know the kind of pain. It starts like a tickle. You get a little drowsy, but mostly you can ignore it. The longer you ignore it, the worse it becomes. By the time we ventured home, I could barely think straight which is not the best thing when you planned to get some coursework out of the way.

Then I did what I always do when I feel a little bit sick; I phoned my mummy.

I have this weird relationship with my Mum. I phone her for a catch up (sometimes multiple times a day), and she phones me to tell me when a relative is ill (if she remembers, that is).

On page that sounds awful. But Mum doesn’t phone unless it’s necessary because she knows I have busy life when I’m at uni. That, and normally when she phones I’m in a lecture.

Anyway, I phoned her and told her I wasn’t feeling well. She advised I go for a short nap (no more than two hours), before getting back up.

That was at 4:30pm. It’s now 8:30pm.

For the most part, I don’t feel any better. In fact, I’ve just taken some more flu tablets and I feel like I am going to vom (sorry if that’s TMI).

I’m not one to get ill. In fact, I’m one of those lucky human beings that only get ill once a year; January. I know how fortunate I am for that.

My Mum thinks that I am subconsciously stressed about my deadlines, which is probably true. The constant state of stressed has meant my immune system is suffering. As a result, I’ve caught a cold.

My brain is not functioning clearly enough in order to make a a joke about that.Or any jokes, in fact.

In fact, my brain has stopped working full stop. So I’m just going to leave it there for today, watch some more shitty telly, and head to bed… Again.

 

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

