Posted in Blog

March 11th, 2016

It’s Friday (or, the only day in my week that has me considering a life as an alcoholic)!

I joke… Well, not really.

This year at university has been a complete whirlwind. I’ve learnt so much about the structure of stories, poems, adaptations, and screenplays. On the flip side, I’ve had less time to embrace it all, and really dive into my studies. Saying that, I wouldn’t leave my current job in order to make more time.

My official, paid, job is working in the Residential Office as a Residential Assistant. They don’t ask for much of my time but there are a lot of open days, and training sessions that I am required to partake in. Which is not a problem.

The problem is me.

I know I’ve spent the last couple of days rambling about how stressed I am, or how I’m not sleeping. But I’m actually going to be positive today (Lord knows I need it).

When I say the problem is me, it’s because I’m too helpful. I’m ambitious. In fact, I’m pretty sure a close friend of mine is resentful towards me because of these traits (but I’m not here to vent about that).

My summer is slowly becoming one which, at the end of, should give me enough experience to work in Publishing. It’s only office work, but that’s a publisher’s domain.

It’s not exactly the foot in the door I anticipated for this summer. I was actually looking forward to going home, find some sort of work experience, and book a holiday with my sister and her boyfriend for next January. But the new plan is much more exciting. Not only will I be working in London, I’ll also be able to stay in London too.

So yes, my job makes me a little stressed. But I don’t want to leave it. I actually plan on resuming my position next academic year – if they’ll have me.

Now all I need to do is start working on my coursework, nail it, and embrace summer.

After all, I think I’ll be coming quite acquainted with this wonderful city once and for all.

Author:

I'm currently working my way through a Creative and Professional Writing degree in London.

Leave a Reply

